Amanda vs. Goliath

Amanda vs. Goliath!

Everyone has heard the story of David and Goliath, the story is told in 1 Samuel 17.  Goliath of Gath was six cubits and a span of almost ten feet. Goliath was a big boy! David didn’t want to take any armor to help him against his fight with Goliath. David took a sling shot and some rocks to help him defeat Goliath. You probably think David was crazy for only taking simple weapons into a fight with a giant. He took  more than just a slingshot and some rocks; David took his faith into the fight against Goliath.

1 Samuel 17-45 “45 “Then said David to the Philistine, You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the ranks of Israel, Whom you have defied.” He had his faith, slingshot, and sword and won the battle. That story is amazing, this young boy without fear and tons of faith went and conquered Goliath. 

We all have a Goliath beating us up each day and we just don’t know how to defeat him. We think of so many ways to defeat the giant, but we fail.  My emotional eating is my Goliath, when my emotions get the best of me I go to food for comfort.  Our Goliath can be many things and not just one specific thing. I know many times when I wanted to lose weight I would be good, but then something would happen and I would let my emotions aka Goliath get the best of me. When going into this journey I went into it with a lot of faith. Each week gets harder and harder, but I go into each week  with my faith growing stronger and stronger. I’m  nowhere prefect and this journey isn’t easy, but I’m going to conquer and win this battle against my Goliath.

I’m on a path of Victory b/c I want to win this battle against Goliath. Don’t worry about yesterdays mistakes or 10 minutes ago, work on NOW and do it with faith. 

I love this song by Love & The Outcome, the lyrics are just amazing. We are constantly pulled in so many directions, but we have to listen to our King.  We doubt ourselves, but God doesn’t doubt us he loves us. Our God is bigger than any battle we are facing, I just love that part of the song. Don’t lose faith b/c we are his children and he wants nothing but the best for us.

Leave a Reply

